Friday, July 23, 2010
At the Muan White Magnolia Festival, which began as the White Lotus Festival in 1997, you can view exotic scenery both day and night. This is because various exotic performances and shows are held throughout the day and into the night. The Baekryun Performance includes brilliant shows such as creative percussion, dance, mimes, and both fusion and traditional Korean music. The meeting of light and Baekryun held at night imbues the summer night with a dazzling feast of lights and magnolias, using image shows with water screens, graphic lasers, beam lasers, and fireworks.
Festival period : every August
Place : Heosan Baekryun Ji, Muan
Heosan Baekryun Ji is a 100,000 pyeong sized reservoir built during the dark times of Japanese colonization. Initially, it served to provide irrigation to adjacent agricultural lands, but as the richer irrigation waters of the Young San River viaduct began to flow, its function as a reservoir declined and it has since become a wild habitat for White Magnolias. The first White Lotus Festival was held in 1997, but its name was changed to the White Magnolia Festival with its expansion in 2003. This contributed to making the Hoesan Baekryun Ji a nationally renowned attraction.
Since the lotus blooms with clear flowers amidst the muddy waters, it has long since been a traditional symbol of Buddhism representing enlightenment, the state of nirvana, and the Buddhist concept of eternal life. The White Magnolia, originating from India and Egypt, blooms with white flowers between July and September, and do not bloom at once, but rather bloom and fall continuously during the three month cycle.
Heosan Baekryun Ji is a 100,000 pyeong sized reservoir built during the dark times of Japanese colonization. It provides irrigation for the adjacent agricultural lands of 250ha, but lost its irrigation functions after construction of the Young San River viaduct.
In the times when the Baekryun Ji was a reservoir, six households lived in the adjacent village of “Duk Ae”. It is said that a resident of this village planted 12 white magnolias at the side of the reservoir near a well, and then dreamt of 12 cranes sitting on the ground. The scene of the dream appeared so much like the 12 magnolias on the ground that the villagers have continually preserved and nurtured the trees with all their passion ever since.
Their efforts were not in vain, and where it started with only 12 magnolias has since become the largest habitat for magnolias in East Asia . Also, the name of the town is Hoesan means that the energy of the whole world meets again, revealing the foresight and wisdom of the ancient ancestors.
Lotuses bloom clear flowers amidst muddy water. The roots never become dirty even though they be submerged in mud. As lotuses bloom with clear and pure flowers and never become soiled, they are the perfect symbol for the fundamental teachings of Buddhism.
Event name : The Lotus Industry Festival of Korea Muan, 2009
Title : If you visit to the Muan, become Nature.
Slogan : Funny Summer vacation, Enjoy travelexperience!
Time : 6 Aug, 2009 9(Thu) ~ 9 Aug, 2009 (Sun) / 4 days
Place : Muangun Ilroeup hoesanbaekryeonji whole area
Event contents : Total 85 kinds.
Ragular events (2 kinds) : 2009 portions of Lotus saury rice etc..
Title events (10 kinds) : Promotional Exhibition of sky white lotus etc..
Special events (9 kinds) : Puppet theater for children etc..
Project events (9 kinds) : 1st Muan white lotus Children Song Festival etc..
Experience events (21 kinds) : gather Lotus roots etc..
Performance events (22 kinds) : KBS Whole country Singing program in the public record etc..
Selling(sales) events (9 kinds) : Lookout (shed) Ice Cafe etc..
Tour events (3 kinds) : Muan eco country village experience etc..
Host organization : Muangun
Supervision : Korea Lotus industry festival promotion Committee
Sponsors : Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry, Jeollanam-do, Korea Rural Corporation, Korea Tourism Organization, Jeollanamdo Office of Education, Jeollanamdo Muan Office of Education,Muan branch of NongHyup
Monday, July 19, 2010
Haeundae Somunnan Amso Galbijip : #1225-1, Jung-1dong, Haeundae-gu 051-746-3333
Haemaji-urikong-cheonggukjang : #444-1, Songjeong-dong, Haeundae-gu 051-703-6090
Haetunen-jip : #1533-9, Jung-2dong, Haeundae-gu 051-742-4156
Jangsanwooga : #641-4, U-dong, Haeundae-gu 051-731-3000
Ilpumhanwoo : #626-11, U-dong, Haeundae-gu 051-747-9900
Yeyije : #1150-8, Jung-1dong, Haeundae-gu 051-731-1100
Seyeongjeong : #174-6, Jung-dong, Haeundae-gu 051-747-6666
T. G. I Fridays : #627-1, U-1dong, Haeundae-gu 051-740-6531
Carib : #437-7, Songjung-dong, Haeundae-gu 051-702-2222
Oh! Happy Day : #991-23, Jung-dong, Haeundae-gu 051-744-2600
Eondeogwiuijip : # 1509-7, Jung-2dong, Haeundae-gu 051-743-2212
Alexander : #1488-9, Jung-2dong, Haeundae-gu 051-746-5971
Saxophone Live House : #991-23, Jung-dong, Haeundae-gu 051-743-6333
Vips : #1392-100, Jung-dong, Haeundae-gu 051-731-6997
Bennigans : #627-1, U-dong, Haeundae-gu 051-740-6600
Morning Calm : #442-4, Songjung-dong, Haeundae-gu 051-701-7000
Denpora : #1318-5, Jung-1dong, Haeundae-gu 051-742-0633
The Haeundae is located at the southern part of in eastern Busan. It is also located near Jangsan Mountain of height of 634m along with 12 km of Sooyoung harbor to Songjung beach. To the west of the Sooyoung River, Sooyoung district, Dongrae, Geumjung, and Yeonjae district to the west northern part of Haeundae, Haeundae is bounded by Gijang district on the east northern part and is located at diverging point of south and east sea.
Korea TEL : 82-51-749-4000 FAX : 82-51-749-4444
Sunday, July 18, 2010
This beach has white sand and clear and clean water. On one side of the beach is an outdoor bathhouse, which is cool during the hot summer. Many beautiful shells such as clamshells are found here.
There are parking lots, restrooms, a camp site, change rooms and shower rooms
It takes about 40 minutes to get here from the Jeju Bus Terminal by bus.
Friday, July 2, 2010
A lighthouse was established at Oryukdo-islands in 1927. As ships started passing in front of Oryukdo-islands, the gateway to Busan after the opening of Busan Port in 1876, the lighthouse was built in Batseom-island (so-called Deungdaeseom-island (Lighthouse Island) so as to be a guide for the port.
A lot number was officially provided to Oryukdo-islands as a national land and registered in the cadastre by Pannyeong Kang, the Nam-gu district leader of those days. Before that time, Oryukdo-islands were not registered in any official record at all. Oryukdo-islands consist of six fantastic rock islands which are arranged in order to the south-southeast direction from Seungdumal, the north shore of Busan Bay. These six islands standing among fierce waves in the offing of Yongho-dong are Bangpaeseom-island (#936, 2,166m2), Solseom-island (#937, 5,505m2), Suriseom-island (#938, 5,313m2), Songgotseom-island (#939, 2,073m2), Gulseom-island (#940, 9,716m2) and Deungdaeseom-island (#941, 3,416m2) from the narrowest to the land.
The formation of these island are attributed to a small peninsula which was linked to the land 120 thousand years ago and has been separated from the land due to corrosion waves over a long period. This estimation is based on the fact that the geological feature of Seungdumal, which is the land, and that of Bangpaeseom-island and Solseom-island, which are narrowest to the land, are the same; that is, those were connected with each other in old times. So, those islands are separated from the land.
Oryukdo-islands are included in the terrace of Gwanganri-beach, and they are the oldest among the coastal terraces where the coasts in Busan Bay are developed. In many cases, red soil is found in the terrace face, and red efflorescence is also found. Triple coastal terraces (each height: 35m, 20m and 9m) formed by cutting the easy-sloped vertical hems of the mountain foot are distributed in Gwanganri, which is the type locality, and the highest Haeseongmyeon is the Gwanganri terrace. The terrace face is composed of relatively thick deposit. The deposit is 3~5cm diameter, round and flat coastal gravels, which are red due to fierce weathering. The gravels are very fragile and easily broken by a small shovel. The name Oryukdo (meaning Five or Six Islands) originates from Bangpaeseom-island and Solseom-island (Refer to Explanation of Oryukdo). That is, Bangpaeseom-island and Solseom-island are almost linked below the middle; they appear as one island called Usakdo-island at low tide. They appear as two islands, Bangpaeseom-island and Solseom-island, at high tide. Therefore, they appear as five or six islands depending on the tide. Usakdo-island (Bangpaeseom-island and Solseom-island) is the origin of the name Oryukdo, and it can verify that they were linked to the land in old times, based on the geological composition. Songgotseom (meaning Gimlet Island) is a pointed little island; Gulseom (meaning Cave Island) is the biggest island having a large cave. The water flows from the ceiling of the cave and is enough for one person’s drink. Deungdaeseom (meaning Lighthouse Island), the farthest island from the land, used to be called as Batseom (meaning Field Island) due to its flatness like a field, but it has been called as Deungdaeseom after the lighthouse was established. Except this island, all other islands are uninhabited. The tide around Oryukdo-islands is very fast; thus, dangerous as a waterway. It is said that, in old days, sailors passing this area offered rice to the sea in order to sooth the Sea God and pray for safety. Oryukdo-islands are the gateway of Korea, and are the symbol of Busan Bay because diverse vessels should pass the area to reach Busan Bay, which is the biggest international port in Korea. Furthermore, Oryukdo-islands, the synonym of Busan, symbolize the Busan citizens’ spirit. Since old days, poets and painters keep visiting here, and still many people visit here. This place is also used regularly as a fishing place.
Location : 936 Yongho-dong Namgu, Busan(Bangpaeseom Island) - 941(Deungdaeseom Island)
posted by: Cho Windmark , issued : 7:57 AM