Monday, May 30, 2011

Come visit sunny beaches in Busan of south korea


Beaches welcome the summer with festivals of fun and exciting performances and sports events .

Haeundae, Gwangalli and Songdo beaches will open on June 1, and remain open until the end of September. This new arrangement means they will be opening a month earlier and closing a month later than last year. Songjeong, Dadaepo, Imnang and Ilgwang beaches are to open on July 1 and close on August 31 as originally scheduled.

                                            < haeundae beach >

Busan City is increasing the opening periods of Haeundae, Gwangalli and Songdo beaches from this year in order to promote their use throughout all four seasons. The three beaches receive the most visitors of any beaches in Busan City, and have also had the most requests to extend their opening periods.

                                < Gwangalli Beach  >

During low season in June and September, visitors are restricted to certain sections of the beach for safety reasons. However, the beaches’ locker rooms, shower rooms, foot washing areas, and drinking fountains will all stay open.

With the opening of Haeundae, Gwangalli and Songdo beaches being moved forward by one month, the local authorities have also lined up a series of special festivals, performances and sports events for locals and tourists alike to enjoy.

                                      < Songdo beach >

Haeundae Beach will have an acoustic guitar live performance at the seashore road every weekend starting from 10 p.m., and a salsa dance festival at the event square. A “sports zone” on the shore will provide a venue for playing beach games such as volley ball and soccer.

Gwangalli Beach will host street performances every weekend at its meeting square with dance and saxophone shows. Gwangalli will also have an open marine sport academy teaching wind surfing, yachting, kayaking, and canoeing on the shore every day.

Songdo Beach will have a music concert at its center square every weekend, as well as a music fountain performance twice a day.

Songdo will also have a marine sport academy offering wind surfing, dinghy yachting and banana boating.

Sunday, May 29, 2011

Jeokseong Mountain Fortress in Danyang of south korea.

Established sometime between AD545 and 551 during the reign of Silla's King Jinheong, the two-tiered walts were originally 900 meters in circumference, but most of it has since collapsed. Only the inner side of the double layer wall on the northwest and a few other remains still stand today.

This is a relatively large scale fortress for the Three Kingdoms period and is significant in the study of the shifting balance of power between Silla and Goguryeo during this period.



At this site, many pieces of roof tiles and earthenware of that time were found. researchers also discovered stele on which was unscribed a record of Silla's expansion to the north and the resulting countermeasures by Goguryeo.




The fortress was very solidtly built and scholars have been able to study preclous example of the fortification techniques of Silla.

Thursday, May 26, 2011

Hahoe Mask Dance Drama of Korea's most traditional folk plays

Hahoe Pyolshin-Gut T'al-Nori is one of Korea's most traditional folk plays.

Handed down at Hahoe-ri, P'ungch'on-myon, Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do, Korea, the mask dance drama has been performed for centuries as a village ritual, Until 1928 the shaman ritual had been performed at intervals of three, five or sometimes ten years, depending on the revelation of the local goddess or an local circumstances. The performance began on lunar New Year's Day and continued at various places around the village until midmonth.



The village sacrificial rite was observed at Sonangdong, the village shaman shrine, early on the morning of January 15th.

The drama combines shaman rituals and popular entertainment. The village ritual was intended to please the local goddess and exorcise evil spirits. The village prayed for an abundant harvest and for peace and prosperity, while enjoying themselves performing the play. The whole village took park in the event and enjoyed the satirical story revealed in the drama.



It was said that if you did not have a chance to watch the mask dance performed in your lifetime, you could not go to heaven.

Like most other folk mask dance dramas handed down in rural communities across Korea, Hahoe Pyolshin-Gut T'al-Nori features various allegorical characters, such as Yangban(an arrogant aristocrat), Sonbi(a pedantic scholar), Chung(a depraved Buddhist monk), Imae(a foolish servant), Paekchong(a coarse butcher) and so on, Each of these characters represents a social class.



Conflicts among different classes and individuals were satirized to relieve social tensions among the families in the village.

The Hahoe mask dance differs from others in its more natural movements and simpler costumes. In addition, though the story is satirical and humorous, it does not culminate in the traditional ritual of burning the masks.

The dance is accompanied by non-ak, the traditional Korean farmers' percussion ensemble. Non-ak is korea's most popular and probably oldest dance music. The powerful sounds of the traditional quartet, comprising the kkwaenggwari(small gong), ching(large gong), puk(large drum) and changgo(long drum), pour forth a hypnotic beat.
video
                                

Originating in ancient times, it was performed to celebrate important rural events, such as village sacrificial rites, rice planting and harvesting, as well as for enjoyment.

On most occasions today, the mask dance is performed simply as an entertainment, losing much of its original splendor and religious and social significance.



In 1980 the government, designated the mask dance drama as Important Intangible Cultual Property No. 69, to ensure its preservation and transmission to future generation. The Hahoe Pyolshim-Gut T'al-nori Preservation Society, Which revived and exclusively presents the mask dance, seeks not only to preserve the drama, but also to introduce one of Korea's greatest cultural treasures to the rest of the rest of the world

Bin Five -story stone pagoda in Seocheong county of south korea

This is a five -story pagoda, estimated to have been built during the early Goreo Dynasty . Among many stone pagodas of the same sytle in the Backje period, this pagoda most closely imitates Buyeo Jeongnimsaji ocheong seoktap.




The pedestal of this pagoda is placed on 4 flat stones. Square stone pillars stand on four coners of the first floor, and trimmed front stone stands between them.
Body stones of the second and third floor were reduced too much in height and
width compared with the first floor one, and they were made of one stone.



Roof stones remain up to the fourth floor now. The Pedestal is small and narrow, the body stones over the second floor are excessively small, and the roof stones of each floor are too big causing problems with stability.

This pagoda (Bin ocheong SeokTap) is treasure no.224 . Located at Seongbuk-ri, Bin-myeon, Seocheong- county, chungcheong province,korea

Thursday, May 19, 2011

8 great sceneries of Seocheon county south korea

Seocheon county is located in the middle of the West Sea in Korea and one of the small counties located in the southern extremity of the Chungcheongnam-do.

Seocheon is famous for the calm and clean environment, fresh fishes and several other marine products. As well, Seocheon producing high quality agricultural products such as rice, vegetables and forest products from the broad land.

Seocheon is a small city harmonized with farm, fishing and riverside villages.
As located in the southern extremity of the Chungcheongnam-do, Seocheon has many beautiful places through the way of the Golden river all the way down to the West sea. Because it has extensive fields and farms working as good food source for the birds, it is also famous for one of the visiting place for seasonal birds. Thousands of all seasonal birds visiting this place every year.

It also has beautiful seashore facing the West sea about 72.5 km. Especially, as it has the Rias coast with many sandy plains, mud, bays, it has been reported as the good natural source of marine products. Because the difference between the rise and fall of the tide are big and shallow seashore, it has slow sandy beach good for the swimming, walking and digging out shellfishes. With these good environments, it has been reported one of the best rest area.

Seocheon is also famous for the several specialties. Because of its location, it has been trade with china from long time ago. Several historical architectures, towers, especially Hansan ramie fabrics and rice wine are the most famous specialties. Seocheon got closed with Incheon international airport by opening of the west sea express way. Please come and visit Seocheon having beautiful sceneries, warm people, plenty of marine products. Please enjoy and having a good time with the clean environment, beach, digging out shellfishes, swimming, fresh sushi, Hansan ramie fabrics and rice wine.

8 great sceneries of Seocheon
1) Camellia forest in Mayang-ri and sunrise
About 500 years ago, an admiral of naval forces in Maryang-ri received a divine message that asked to build alter of worship for the safety against rough sea wave.


At the moment of building the altar, Camellia was said to be planted and the Camellia planted that time grew and eventually formed the Maryang-ri Camellia forest. 85 rich Camellia trees are planted on the area of 3,145㎡. On every April, the full bloom of Camellia creates magnificent scenery and there is a tower called ‘Camellia Tower’ on the top of the surrounding mountain.

2) Geumgang estuary dyke
It is an estuary bank with 1,840m length connecting Dosam-ri, Maseo-myeon, Secheon-gun and Sungsan-myeon, Gunsan-si. The tide embankment is 1,127 m and floodgate is 714m. There are separate gate for ships and fish. In the tourism sites at the Geumgang estuary dyke, various facilities for commerce, entertainment, and relaxation are provided.



3)The village of Hansan ramie
Hansan ramie fabric is the traditional fabric for summer that represents the beauty of Korea. Since its historic value is highly evaluated, its production technique is appointed as an important intangible cultural asset (The 1st intangible cultural asset of Chungnam).



Special Hansan ramie fabric weavers such as Moon, Jung-Ok (designated as important intangible cultural assets No. 14) and Na, Sang-Duk (designated as Chungcheongnam-do intangible cultural assets No. 1) are designated as special technicians to succeed the essence of Korean tradition. Also to provide an opportunity for the tradition successors to learn the tradition while announcing the excellence of Hansan ramie fabrics to those who visit Seocheon-gun, the Museum of Hansan Ramie Fabric was opened in August 1993. The museum was constructed with 85,000 ㎡ scale on the foot of the mountain where Hansan ramie fabric was first produced equipped with ramie fabric hall, traditional craft space, education hall, place to make Hansan Sogokju, folk hall, etc.

4) Reed forest in Sinsung-ri
Seocheon is the county with a lot of reed. Reed forms a group around wet land, shore of an estuary, and lake.


As for a good example to judge the natural environment of Seocheon, the view of lined up reed around the fishing and seaside villages along the coast of Seocheon for about 80 km can be witnessed. Among those reed forests, the one at Sinsung-ri is counted as the ‘seven representative reed forest in Korea’ appointed by the Korea Tourism Organization and it has become a popular place as for various educational organizations as well as photographing in Korea.

5) Chunjangdae Beach
Surrounded by rich acacia forest and Big Cone Pine, Chunjangdae Beach has gentle inclination with 1.5 degree and peaceful water surface. Unlike other beaches in west coast, it shows off the splendid view attracting visitors for their summer holidays.


  

Along with the Busa Tide Embankment near the Chunjangdae Beach, Hongwon Port, Camellia forest in Mayang-ri, and Geumgang estuary dyke, it becomes one of the popular places for families and companies during summer.

6) Munhon Confucian Lecture Hall


This was established at the 2nd year of the King Gwanghae (1610) in honor of two great scholars called Lee Gok, pen named Gajeong, and Lee Saek, pen named Mogeun at the end of the Goryeo Dynasty.


Today the collections of both Mogeun and Gajeong and their portraits are stored in the shrine along with the memorial tablets for the six great Confucian scholars including Lee Gok, Lee Saek, and Lee Jong-deok.

7)Natural Recreation Forest in Mt. Heeri
Covered with natural forest of Big Cone Pine, the view of the overall mountain is magnificent. The reservoir at the entrance allows fishing along with recreation in the mountain. The hiking path leads to the top of the mountain and it is the heaven-blessed spot with the view of the west sea with one sight.


Especially the houses in the forest are decorated with single species for interior allowing fragrance of each species in each house and this place is the only facility that provides such accommodation. There are also a lot of things to see including wild flower unit.

8) Scenery of Mt. Chunbang

Mt. Chunbang is the largest and biggest mountain in Seocheon stretched along the Pangyo-myeon, Munsan-myeon, and Shicho-myeon in Seocheon-gun.


It is not rough or dangerous so it creates gentle impression to people. There are four mountain-tops toward east, west, and south having clear view for the four directions. It is a ‘Soul Mountain’ with great scenery. The mountain tops on the right and left of the Mt. Chunbang has five more mountain tops towards the northwest, and the clear scenery spread in the northeast side of the mountain (or the counterclockwise) is popular among the visitors.

Phone call of tourism information
The tourism information call 1330 is operated by the Korea Tourism Organization to provide various travel information in Korea to visitors.

The service provides in three major languages including Korean, English, and Japanese.

For foreign tourists or foreigners living in Korea, the tourism information call 1330 provides service in Korean as well as in English, Japanese, and Chinese. Also the service provides information on tourism and supports the phone interpretation service.

The level of quality on tourism information service is excellent.

Are you looking for information you need through a book or internet? The tourism information call 1330 simply solves your problem. We provide quality-oriented service including thorough education on phone manners and service as well as on-site inspection to present more realistic information for the tourists.

Simply ask whenever and wherever you are. 1330 is ready for 24 hours.

“Is there anyone such late at night?” Don’t worry. The tourism information number 1330 is operated 24 hour for 365 days to answer for your inquiry occurred in the middle of travel. Blow away the difficulty of your travel making a call whenever and wherever you are.

It is a public service that does not require additional fee for data use.

The tourism information number 1330 can be used free of charge and is like the use of regular phone when calling. Visit the website of Korea Tourism Organization to use the tourism information number 1330 through Web-call Service even free from the charge of a regular phone.

Don’t forget wherever you are and whenever it is

Wherever you are and whenever it is, press 1330. Your inquiry on travel is solved. Phone, public phone: 1330 Mobile phone: 02-1330 (1330 call center operated by Korea Tourism Organization)

Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Beautiful Hwaseong fortress in Suwon city of South korea

This beautiful fortress is located on Mt. Paldalsan and nearby hills in Suwon.

< History >
Hwaseong Fortress was built over two and a half years, from 1794 to 1796. The architect was Jeong Yak-yong, who would later become a famous leader of the Silhak movement. Silhak, which means practical learning, encouraged the use of science and industry and Jeong incorporated fortress designs from Korea, China, and Japan and scientific knowledge into his plans. Adoption of brick as a building material for the fortress and the use of efficient pulleys and cranes also were the result of the influence of Silhak.

The fortress was also a response to the collapse of the Korean front line during Hideyoshi's Invasions of Korea. At the time, the dominant Korean fortress-building model was to make a simple wall for the city or town and a separate mountain fortress for the people to evacuate to in times of war. However, this fortress was built to include elements of a wall, defensive fortress, and town center. The four main gates were used as the gates for the town. The arrow-launching platforms built along ramparts with crenelleted parapets and battlements were elements of the fortress while the wall also held secret gates for offensive actions.

The fortress took 700,000 man-hours to build and cost the national treasury 870,000 nyang, the currency at the time, and 1,500 sacks of rice to pay the workers. In the past, government works were built with corvée labor, but in this case workers were paid by the government, a sign of Silhak influence.

King Jeongjo apparently built this fortress to prepare for a move of the capital from Seoul to Suwon. Suwon is strategically positioned to connect Seoul with the Yellow Sea and China. The king wanted to leave the fracticious strife of the court to carry out reforms and believed that Suwon had the potential to grow into a new and prosperous capital. To encourage growth, he ordered people to move to Suwon at considerable expense and exempted them from taxes for ten years. King Jeongjo also ordered public works, like educational facilities, for the city.

A white paper "Hwaseong Seong-yeokuigwe" (Records of Hwaseong Fortress Construction) was published in 1800, shortly after Jeongjo died. It was ten volumes and proved invaluable for the reconstruction effort in 1970 after the fortress had been severely damaged during the Korean War. The volumes were divided by subject. The first volume was about the plans for building, such as the drawing details and list of supervisors. The next six volumes detail the actual implementation of the building, such as the royal orders and records of the wages of the workers. The final three volumes are supplements and detail the construction of an adjoining palace. The manpower was divided by specialty, such as overseers and stone masons and manual labor. The records detail the amount of materials used as well.


Built under the plan of King Jeongjo of the Joseon Kingdom who wanted to move the court from Seoul to Suwon, to be closer to the tomb of his father, Prince Jangheon.


The fortress is famous for having used modern equipment and machinery invented by such renowned scientists as Yu Hyeongwon and Jeong Yakyong. The construction of the fortress called Hwaseong(Flower Fortress), took two years from 1794, the 18th year of King Jeongjo's reign.

 This fortress, designed to surround the entire town center, is complete with a temporary palace called Hwaseong Haenggung, and shrines such as Jungposa, Naeposa and Sajikdan as well as four smaller passageways, two floodgates, three guardhouses, a signal-fire stand and five gun emplacements.


        The fortress has four gates, "Hwaseomun" (west gate), "Janganmun" (north), "Paldalmun" (south) and Changnyongmun (east). The Janganmun and Paldalmun gates are the larger of the four main gates and resemble Seoul's Namdaemun in roof design, and stone and wood work.(Janganmun is bigger than Namdaemun. Janganmun is the most enormous gate in Korea.) Paldalmun was burned down during the Korean War and was reconstructed in 1975. Janganmun survived destruction and is from the original construction of the fortress. Both the north and south gates are topped with two-story wooden pavilions while Hwaseomun and Changyongmun, the west gate and east gate respectively, had one story pavilions. The north gate's grand design reflected King Jeongjo's desire to move the capital to Suwon. The four main gates are encircled by miniature fortresses which housed guards to protect the gates.




It also have four main gates, Changnyongmun in the east, Hwaseomun in the west, Janganmun in the north, and Paldalmun in the south. The original fortress was heavily damaged for the last 200 years, particularly during the Korean War (1950-1953).

           he wall is 5.74 kilometers in length and four to six meters high, originally enclosing 1.3 square kilometres of land. On flat terrain the wall was generally built higher than wall that was on mountainous terrain, an incorporation of terrain into the fortress defenses which was rare in China and Japan. The parapets are made of stone and brick, like most of the fortress, and were 1.2 meters in height.

Although the southern section has not been restored, the three-quarters that remains is well maintained and can be hiked on foot.




             Wall structures, Originally, there were 48 facilities along the wall of the fortress but seven of them have been lost to flooding, wars, or wear. The fortress features a floodgate, four secret gates, four guard platforms, two observation towers, two command posts, two archer's platforms, five firearms bastions, five sentry towers, four angle towers, a beacon tower and nine bastions.

There were three watchtowers but only two remain, both three-stories with distinctive wooden pavilions on top and embrasures for guns and lookouts. The beacon tower had five chimneys to make different signals with smoke or fire. When one was lit it signaled peace, two meant the enemy had been spoted, three meant the enemy was approaching, four meant the enemy had made it into the city, and five signals lit meant that the fighting had begun.

It was restored through a three-year project begun in 1975. This fortress is unique in the history of fortress construction in Asia in that aesthetic beauty is wonderfully mixed with the modern technology, and perhaps that's why it should be listed by UNESCO as the World Cultural Heritage of UNESCO in 1997.

Monday, May 16, 2011

Acient Tombs in Jisan-dong Goryeong in kyeongbuk province of korea

Goryeong is an old area of the Daegaya, which has hundreds of tombs at present. Among them the group of tomb of Jisan-dong was numbered now up to the seventy-second tomb when the historical relics were arranged properly, provided that the shape is clear and the size is relatively large.



 This group of tomb is all shaped like the arch in the surface and according to the size of the mound they are classified into a small, middle and a large size. "Bongto" or mound means that the shape of tomb is made in piling up earth high.




 The large tomb is mainly located in the upper ridge of a mountain, the middle tomb in the middle spine of a mountain and the small tombs were found around or below the large or middle tomb.



The inner structure shows several forms like stone chamber, stone lined tomb and stone coffin. In a case of stone coffin, it succeeded to the tradition of the Bronze Age. That several graves in one mound appeared is considered as a burial of the living with the dead rather than the burial of a family.

 
    

The investigated large tomb has lots of earthen vessels, including golden coffin, a suit of armor and a helmet, long sword, ornamental things excavated. It is considered as the tomb of the ruling class, made in between the 4th and the 6th Century. It is an important site of historic relics to show the culture and the politics of this area.
                                
                                 ***************

Daegaya royal tomb pavilion is the restoration of Jisandong Tumulus No. 44, which is the large scale soonjang tomb discovered for the first time in Korea. Visitors can enter the real size model of tumulus No.44 and see the structure and building method of the tomb, the burial of the lord and attendants, types and characteristics of other buried items and so forth.
This pavilion was built so that ordinary people can see and understand the life and culture of Daegaya people more easily. Its purpose includes refocusing on the history of Daegaya and use it as the educational site for academic and historical study as well as building a cultural tourist site by connecting with nearby cultural assets such as Jisandong Tumulus Site.

Royal tomb pavilion is a museum of new concept and a comprehensive pavilion where visitors can see, feel and experience Daegaya's history, culture, the tradition of burying the living with the dead and so
 
Location : Gyungbuk province Goryeong-Goon Goryeong-Eup Jisan-Lee 460
Contact : Tel. 082-54-950- 6071

Saturday, May 14, 2011

Ancient Tombs in Boxcheon-dong ,Dongae in Busan of south korea

Ancient Tombs in Boxcheon-dong ,Dongae in Busan

Concentrated on a hill around Bokcheon-dong, Busan, this is a large group of ancient tombs in the age of Gaya Kingdom. Of them more than 40 tombs were dug out by several times of researching work, but this is just a part of the total tombs at this ruins, and most of them still remain under the houses.


Various patterns of building tomb were found as below; 1.Togwang Mokgwakmyo(Woooden coffin was set in a wide chamber made by digging ground) 2. Suhyeolsik seoksilmyo(Underground stone chamber by piling thin and flat stones to make wall and ceiling) 3. Togwangmyo(Burying dead body into the dug ground directly).




There are a lot of bigger tombs not robbed yet so more than 2,000 pieces of various heritages were excavated so far. The earthenware including high cups with curved legs, Pots with neck, lamps are representing the specific character of earthenware used in the riverside of the lower stream of Nakdonggang River, and is contributing to their dating work.


 It is found that the earthenware of Silla influenced greatly to those made in the middle of the 5th Century. Various kinds of armors and helmets including the single-ply armor made of iron, the light armor, and the hanging armor were found. Especially the single-ply armor from the 4th tomb is the unique one that was found for the first time in our country. The hanging armor was found with its complete set of attached accessories from the 11th tomb, which is the first case in our country.

A set of fully equipped harness for practical use was found for the first time in our country from the 10th tomb. It is possible to confirm that these kinds of helmets and armors came from Goguryeo Kingdom as they were painted on the inside walls of the ancient tombs in the age of Goguryeo Kingdom.


The discovery of a new pattern of tomb in the ancient tomb at Bokcheon-dong is providing an important motive to study the trend of the changed tombs. At the same time the full set of harness found first in our country as well as the earthenware of Silla provide a significant material to study the restored history of the Gaya Kingdom in the 4th to 5th Century as well as the inner and outer political situation in that age because it proved the influence of Goguryeo Kingdom to this area. Therefore this group of ancient tombs at Bokcheon-dong is a very important ruins which is providing the various materials to study the ancient history of our country

Friday, May 13, 2011

Do you know Korea's paper ? Hanji.

Hanji is made from specially-selected trees and water, and carefully produced by Hanji masters.

In 1600 AD, during the Japanese invasion of Korea, a general was shot by a poison arrow but survived. How was this possible?



During the Joseon Dynasty, deep in the mountains where there were no doctors, a man who was suffering from extreme bleeding ate something that was burned and was cured. What was it?

Summer vegetables graced King Sookjong's royal table during the Joseon Dynasty. Where and how were the vegetables cultivated?


The answer: Hanji.
This episode takes a scientific approach to exploring the secret of Hanji, which has existed for 100 years, and its effects. We delve into the mysteries of Hanji as they appeared in the Joseon Dynasty Chronicles and other historic records. Through objective experimental data and proven effects, we present the excellence of Korea's paper, Hanji.

Thursday, May 12, 2011

Colorful Daegu Pre-Championships Meeting 2011 (IAAF World Challenge)

Colorful Daegu Pre-Championships Meeting 2011 (IAAF World Challenge)

 * Data & Time: 12 May 2011 (Thu), 18:40~21:30

 * Pre Event (18:15~18:40)Opening Ceremony (18:40~18:53)Competition (19:00~21:40) 
      Award Ceremonies (21:25~21:40)

 * 16 Events (8 Men's and 8 Women's/10 Track & 6 Field Events)


 * Description
Daegu Stadium will be the venue of the 2011 IAAF World Championships Host and the Colorful Daegu Pre-Championships Meeting 2011. Completed in May 2001, it is the largest stadium in Korea, with a seating capacity of more than 66,400. Among the international and national sporting events hosted in the city of Daegu, two world-class sporting events have stood out: the 2002 FIFA World Cup and the 2003 Summer Universiade. Come 2011, the number of major international sporting events will be increased to three. One of the most unique features of the stadium is its arched roofs. The curves of the roofs signify the embrace of the Earth and all of Mankind. More than 70 percent of the roof is covered in Teflon, which provides shelter to the spectators while allowing sufficient sunlight to pass through. The stadium has also hosted the Colorful Daegu Pre-Championships Meeting since 2005 and the Daegu International Marathon, which are both held annually. Participating athletes, and Daegu citizens alike, have often marveled at how the picturesque view of the mountain standing majestically next to the stadium and the warm-up areas has provided them with a calming effect. The stadium is equipped with state-of-the-art technical facilities and has an IAAF-Certified Class 1 track surface; further improvements are in the works to satisfy even the most demanding expectations from the IAAF and the thousands of athletics enthusiasts


* Overview
      - Name : Daegu Stadium
      - Location : 504 Suseong-gu, Daegu
      - Lot Area : 512,479㎡
      - Gross Floor Area : 141,799㎡ (3 baesment floors; 3 ground floors)
      - Spectator Seats : 66,422 Seats
           (Covering over 74% of seats)Distance : 3km from the Athletes' Village; 8km
            from the Daegu International AirportCompetition
     - Facilities : 400mX8 lanes (9 straight 100m lanes)

Colorful Daegu Pre-Championships  RESULTS
Track Events
 * 남자 100M (M) - 1th USA walter Dix  - 10 sec 00.
                               2nd USA Mike Rodgers - 10 sec 03
                               3rd NOR(노르웨이) ,Jaysuma Ndure - 10sec 09

* 여자 100m (W)  - 1th USA Carmelita Jeter  - 11sec09
                               2nd USA Lashaunte Moore - 11sec 27
                               3rd GAB(가봉) Ruddy Zhang Milama - 11sec35
* 남자 110 H (M)- 1th usa David Oliver -13sec 14
                             2nd usa Aries Merritt - 13sec30
                             3rd JAM(자메이카) Dwight Thomas - 13sec40

 * 여자200 m (W) - 1th USA Allyson Felix - 22sec 38
                               2nd USA Consuella Moore - 23sec 16
                               3rd Russia Alexandra Fedoriva - 23sec17

 * Javelin Throw (MAN)  - 1th POL(폴란드) Igor Janik - 82m 18
                                         2nd GER(독일) Mark Frank - 80m45
                                         3rd NZL(뉴질랜드) Stuart Farquhar - 79m00

 * Triple Jump ( MAN)   - 1th KOR 김덕현 - 16m99
                                       2nd BAH (바하마) Leevan Sands - 16m 97
                                       3rd CUB (구바) Alexis Copello - 16m97

Wednesday, May 11, 2011

Chokseongnu Pavilion in Jinju city of kyeongnam province

This pavilion was built in 1365 in the late Goryeo Dynasty(the 14th year of king Gongmin) and rebuilt and repaired 8 times.
The pavilion is located on the southern cliff of Jinjuseong(or Namjangdae) facing Namgang River.


It is made of 5 kan in the front and 4 kan in the side with an octagonal tile(Giwa) roof. This pavilion was also called Jujangdae, Namjangdae or Jangwonry as it was used as the commending post of the used as the commending post of the general, as it is located in the south of the castle or as it was used as an examination place to pick up the local government officials.

There are differents stories handed down about who first built Chokseongnu. They say Kim Jung Gwang of the Goryeo Dynasty built it says King Jungseon built it. says Gwon Chung and Park Sigeol built it. says Kimju took Chokseongnu as a sample when he built Yeongnam-nu pavilion.


Though there is no fixed written record, Chokseongnu pavilion is assumed to be built in the late Goryeo Dynasty. When they built Chokseongnu pavilion, they built 4 pavilions in each side of 4 directions, among which Namjangdae on the south became Chokseongnu.



The pavilion was destructed in the Japanese invasion. In 1618(the 10th year of GwangHae Gun), a soldier Namiheung rebuilt it. Unfortunately the castle(National Treasure No.276) was burnt the embankment in the Korean war. It was again rebuilt in May, 1960 by Jinju Cultural Heritage Preservation Committee. The new pillars of Chokseongnu were made of limestones.




Chokseongnu is admitted as the first pavilion in Yeongnam and one of the three pavilions in Korea with its artistic value. Standing majestically on the precipice of Namgang River, Chokseongnu still boasts of its beauty as the first pavilion in Yeongnam.

                                      **************

Ui-am (Righteous Rock) is where Non-gae, a gisaeng (professional female entertainer), threw herself into the river to down a Japanese commander. When Jinju fell to the enemy after some 70,000 soldiers, officials and townspeople of Jinju fought to thier death to defend thier town during thw 1593 Japanese invasion, Non-gae the commander of the Japanese army to this rock and jumped into the water holding him firmly in her embarace .



The rock came to be called Ui-am in memory of Non-gae's loyalty and patriotiom. Jeong Dae-ryung(1599-166), a local scholar, carved the word "Ui-am" on the western wall of the rock in 1629 and Han Mong-Sam(1598-1662) also the same word on the southern part of it.