Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Jak-chun-jung & Jakkwaecheon valley of Ulju's 8 Sceneries

Jak-chun-jung & Jakkwaecheon valley of Ulju's 8 Sceneries
The stream runs from 1,083m Gan-wol mountain over the sea to the front of Jak-chun-jung passing Dung-uk-ri, we call it Jak-goae-chun. From old times it is an oasis in Eonyang due to its clear water and beautiful scenery.

Drive 3km from Eonyang to the central-south and turn to the west road, we can meet tunnel of cherry trees aged 40 years, after passing this tunnel, we can see Jak-chun-jung.

Its name is started because of purity of water and rock just like dangled liquor glasses. You can feel great scene of many grand, strange rocks in both side of valley after parking at the entrance parking lot. crystal water runs on worn-out crags. Even if it''s severe hot sultriness, we may forget about it through washing hand and our face. Jak-chun-jung is an arbor, which was built by local scholars to praise King Se-jong of Cho-sun age in the 20th year after coming to the throne, it''s a beautiful spot matched with clear water and white rocks. Becoming cool at this arbor, we may feel like to compose a poem or paint this beauty into a picture. In fall, we can appreciate the beauty of whole blazing mountain. Many poets and painters has visited here from old times.
But not always under romantic mood. This place was used for a plan about the 1919 Independence Movement, many local troops were dead in battle during Japanese Invasion of Korea in 1592 and also it was open-air church when the religion of Chondokyo, Roman Catholic come in first. Like this, it was a nest for many patriots, a sprouting place to fixation of religions and a place where many poets and painters developed studies. -transportation Buses run from Eonyang every 15 minutes and it takes 15 minutes to Jak-chun-jung.(30 minutes from Ul-san to Eonyang by bus)

Drive along Kyung-bu Highway, more 4km on #35 national road passing Eonyang town from Eonyang IC, or go up to Jak-chun-jung through Tong-do-sa IC along Kyung-bu Highway.

Location : Gyodong-ri, Samnam-myeon, Ulju-Gun, Ulsan

Friday, August 24, 2012

Korean National Treasure No. 285 , the Petroglyphs of Bangudae

With precipitous mountains, valleys, and fantastic rocks, Bangudae is named as such because of its shape, resembling that of a turtle lying on the ground. There are also the Petroglyphs of Bangudae, a prehistoric relic, and designated as the National Treasure no. 285, on Bangudae.

Located in Daegok-ri, Eonyang-eup, Bangudae is named as such because of its resemblance to a turtle lying on the ground. A foot of Mt. Yeongo extended out to Bangudae, and created a picturesque view with fantastic rocks.

The water of jade from the Cheonjeon valley of Dudong-myeon streams down here, and forms a pond, which has been well known for its exceptional view. Therefore, many poets from all over the country would visit here, and enjoy the view as the subject for their poems.

During the period of Silla, when Hwarangs used to travel to noted mountains and rivers as encouragement for the spirit and training for their bodies and souls, some came here to train. Additionally, the Three Wise Men (Samhyeon): Poeun Jeong Mongju of the late Koryeo period, Hoejae Lee Eonjeok of the early Joseon period, and Hangang Jeong Gu, once came here and left famous poems. They also would teach the townspeople. At Poeundae, a sogu, located below Bangudae and standing beside the Bangoseowon Yuheo and Poeumdae Yeongmu monuments, bears the records of the achievements of the Three Wise Men, facing the rebuilt Banguseowon.

Banguseowon was first built in 1712, the 38th year of King Sukjong, to commemorate the study and the achievements of the Three Wise Men, bearing their mortuary tablets. It was burnt down in 1728, during the 8th reign of King Yeongjo. Though it was rebuilt next year, Banguseowon was later demolished in the 8th reign of King Gojong, due to the Order of Abolition of Seowons.

During the mid 1960s after the Ulsan Industrial Complex has been formed, however, the Sayeon Dam was built in Sayeon, Beomseo-eup, by blocking water on the lower Bangu stream to provide water for industrial use, which caused the height of water to go up, resulting in the historically important Petroglyphs flooding.
It is our pride that such a historic and archeologically important relic is in our town.

One of which is currently underwater in San 234-1, Daegok-ri and the other is in the upper stream of Cheonbyeon (Cheonjeon-ri Dudong-myeon), which is also designated as National Treasure No. 147.
Location : (689-803) Dagae-ri, Eonyang-eup, Ulju-Gun, Ulsan san 234-1
Tel. 82-52-229-2000