With precipitous mountains, valleys, and fantastic rocks, Bangudae is named as such because of its shape, resembling that of a turtle lying on the ground. There are also the Petroglyphs of Bangudae, a prehistoric relic, and designated as the National Treasure no. 285, on Bangudae.
Located in Daegok-ri, Eonyang-eup, Bangudae is named as such because of its resemblance to a turtle lying on the ground. A foot of Mt. Yeongo extended out to Bangudae, and created a picturesque view with fantastic rocks.
The water of jade from the Cheonjeon valley of Dudong-myeon streams down here, and forms a pond, which has been well known for its exceptional view. Therefore, many poets from all over the country would visit here, and enjoy the view as the subject for their poems.
During the period of Silla, when Hwarangs used to travel to noted mountains and rivers as encouragement for the spirit and training for their bodies and souls, some came here to train. Additionally, the Three Wise Men (Samhyeon): Poeun Jeong Mongju of the late Koryeo period, Hoejae Lee Eonjeok of the early Joseon period, and Hangang Jeong Gu, once came here and left famous poems. They also would teach the townspeople. At Poeundae, a sogu, located below Bangudae and standing beside the Bangoseowon Yuheo and Poeumdae Yeongmu monuments, bears the records of the achievements of the Three Wise Men, facing the rebuilt Banguseowon.
Banguseowon was first built in 1712, the 38th year of King Sukjong, to commemorate the study and the achievements of the Three Wise Men, bearing their mortuary tablets. It was burnt down in 1728, during the 8th reign of King Yeongjo. Though it was rebuilt next year, Banguseowon was later demolished in the 8th reign of King Gojong, due to the Order of Abolition of Seowons.
During the mid 1960s after the Ulsan Industrial Complex has been formed, however, the Sayeon Dam was built in Sayeon, Beomseo-eup, by blocking water on the lower Bangu stream to provide water for industrial use, which caused the height of water to go up, resulting in the historically important Petroglyphs flooding.
It is our pride that such a historic and archeologically important relic is in our town.
One of which is currently underwater in San 234-1, Daegok-ri and the other is in the upper stream of Cheonbyeon (Cheonjeon-ri Dudong-myeon), which is also designated as National Treasure No. 147.
Location : (689-803) Dagae-ri, Eonyang-eup, Ulju-Gun, Ulsan san 234-1