History of Jinju city
Jinju is a hub city of southern Korea. From old times, Jinju was a fountainhead of national culture and spirit. As a city that has held 1,000-year-old historical heritage of the ancient city, Jinju has been well renowned as a home of patriotic spirit, education, culture and art.
It became 'Jinju-mok', one of 12 moks(local administrative units in Goryeo and Joseon Dynasty) in the 2nd year of King Seongjong(983). In the 33rd year of King Gojong of the Joseon Dynasty(1896), administrative district of the nation was reorganized with 13 provinces. At that time Jinju began to belong to Gyeongsangnam-do, and became capital town of Gyeongsangnam-do. And provincial governor started to reside at Jinju. On April 1, 1925, Busan replaced Jinju as provincial capital.
On August 15, 1949, the government of the Republic of Korea was established and 'the local self-government system' was started. At that time, Jinju-bu was raised to Jinju-si(city) and started to have mayor of the city. On January 1, 1995, in accordance with 'the Law pertaining to the establishment of Urban-Rural Integrated City', Jinju-si and Jinyang-gun became extinct and were merged into one integrated Jinju-si(city).
Jinju Castle(area 1,760m2, stone castle) is a sacred ground of Jinju in which history and culture of Jinju are well integrated. Originally it had been a mud castle. But it was rebuilt with stones against frequent invasion of sea marauders in the 5th year of King Woo, Goryeo Dynasty(1379). During the Japanese invasion of Korea in 1592, the General Gim, Si-min won a victory at this castle, which was one of three great victories in the war. And the next year(1593), in the second Jinjuseong Battle, about 70,000 militia corps and government troops resisted to the last to die for their country gloriously.
This castle was used for the provincial office of Gyeongsangnam-do from 1895 to 1925. From 1969, the first Jinjuseong Restoration Project was started. In 1972, Chokseongmun was completed, and in 1975, fortress repair was finished. From 1979, the second Restoration Project was conducted. Removal of 751 private houses was promoted and was completed in 1984. In 1992, as the third project, outer wall of castle was improved.
There are many historical relics on this site such as Jinju National Museum, Jinju castle Imjindaecheop Gyesasunuidan Altar, Changnyeolsa Temple, and Hoguksa Temple.
Location : Bonseong-dong, Namseong-dong, Jinju-si
Size : 176,804m2
Construction Period : Goryeo Period (1079-1229)
Hoguksa Temple was built during the Goryeo Period and originally named 'Naeseongsa'. This temple appears to had been built with reconstruction of Jinjuseong Castle to keep off the Japanese invaders and raise monk soldiers in it. It was a base of monk army during the Imjinwaeran War. It is said that King Sukjong ordered to reconstruct the castle and named 'Hoguksa'(means defense of the fatherland) after the war, in appreciation of the monk soldiers who sacrificed their lives to defend the castle during the 2nd Jinjuseong Battle.