Sunday, September 30, 2012

Taegeukgi Korea's national flag

                 National Flag - Taegeukgi

The Korean flag is called Taegeukgi.
 Its design symbolizes the principles of the yin and yang in Asian philosophy. The circle in the center of the flag is divided into two equal parts. The upper red section represents the proactive cosmic forces of the yang. Conversely, the lower blue section represents the responsive cosmic forces of the yin. The two forces embody the concepts of continual movement, balance, and harmony that characterize the sphere of infinity. The circle is surrounded by four trigrams, one in each corner. Each trigram symbolizes one of the four universal elements: heaven, earth, fire, and water.

National Symbols of the Republic of Korea The National Flag - Taegeukgi Korea's national flag, Taegeukgi, consists of a taegeuk circle in the center and four trigrams - geon (heaven), gon (earth), gam (water), and ri (fire) - in each of the four corners, set against a white background.

The white background symbolizes brightness and purity and reflects Koreans’' peace-loving national trait. The taegeuk circle at the center symbolizes the harmony of yin (blue) and yang (red). It represents the concept that everything in the universe is created and developed through the interaction of yin and yang.

The four trigrams surrounding the taegeuk circle denote the process of yin and yang undergoing a spiral of change and growth, and are named geon, gon, gam, and ri.

These four trigrams, in combination with the taegeuk circle at the center, produce a harmonious, unified appearance.

As such, Taegeukgi, centered on the taegeuk design favored by the ancestors of Korea, embodies the ideals of the Korean people, who have long pursued creation and prosperity as universal principles.

No comments:

Post a Comment